Additional Active Directory Server Roles in Windows Server 2008

The audience for this path includes administrators who are rolling out and supporting Windows Server 2008 in the enterprise. The audience also includes individuals seeking certification on Microsoft's new generation server platform.

As an exam prerequisite, any candidate should have a minimum of one year of experience implementing and administering a network operating system in an environment that has the following characteristics:

  • 250 to 5,000 or more users
  • three or more physical locations
  • three or more domain controllers
  • network services and resources such as messaging, a database, file and print, a proxy server, a firewall, the Internet, an intranet, remote access, and client computer management
  • connectivity requirements such as connecting branch offices and individual users in remote locations to the corporate network and connecting corporate networks to the Internet

Expected Duration
120 minutes

Windows Server 2008 includes several new Active Directory Domain Services roles. These roles are conveniently managed in the Server Manager console, which allows administrators to add, remove, and manage the server roles on any Windows Server 2008 server. This course covers new active directory server roles, such as the Active Directory Federation and Active Directory Rights Management roles, which enhance an organization’s ability to safeguard domain resources, extend external network access, and facilitate the use of a single sign-on solution. This course also describes enhancements to Active Directory Certificate Services, which include new Enrollment Agent Templates, Online Responders, and a new enterprise PKI management tool, and is one in a series that covers the objectives for Microsoft exam 70-640: TS: Windows Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuring. Passing this exam completes the requirements for the MCTS: Windows Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuration certification, and counts as credit towards the following exams: Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP): Enterprise Administrator, and the Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP): Server Administrator certifications, since both MCITPs are certifications that require more than one exam.


Introducing Read-Only Domain Controllers

  • recognize the features of RODCs
  • install an RODC in a forest
  • install a Read-Only Domain Controller

Active Directory Roles

  • recognize the new features of Active Directory Rights Management Services
  • recognize the role of Active Directory
  • install a root Certificate Authority
  • recognize the features of Active Directory Certificate Services
  • configure AD RMS
  • recognize the features of AD RMS
  • install AD FS role services
  • configure the web server
  • configure the federation server
  • configure Active Directory roles





Multi-license discounts available for Annual and Monthly subscriptions.