Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 – Advanced Infrastructure: Clustering and NLB

IT Professionals working in datacenter environments based on Microsoft server technologies and seeking advanced knowledge of Windows Server 2012 R2 and System Center 2012 R2. This course can be taken in preparation for exam 70-414: Implementing an Advanced Server Infrastructure, which is part of the Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert, or MCSE credential.


Expected Duration
150 minutes

Failover clustering and Network Load Balancing (NLB) are features of Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2, which provide different levels of fault tolerance, high availability, and scalability to the workloads in your data center. Failover clustering provides high availability for services and applications. NLB provides availability and scalability for servers running TCP/IP services. This course covers the planning and implementation of each technology as well as identifying their key features, differences, usage scenarios, deployment, and configurations. The course is part of a series of Skillsoft courses that cover the objectives for exam 70-414: Implementing an Advanced Server Infrastructure. This exam is required for the MCSE Server Infrastructure.


Failover clustering

  • identify components and advantages of a failover cluster
  • identify the requirements for failover clustering with Windows Server 2012 R2
  • identify the order of failover clustering implementation steps
  • identify recommended approaches to Cluster-Aware Updating
  • identify the principles of multisite failover clusters in Windows Server 2012 R2

Network Load Balancing

  • identify considerations of planning an NLB cluster in a given scenario
  • identify affinity options to use when deploying an NLB cluster in a given scenario
  • plan and implement failover clustering and Network Load Balancing





Multi-license discounts available for Annual and Monthly subscriptions.